Archive for November 11, 2010


Golmaal 3 has take the sixth biggest Worldwide first weekend opening ever. Dabangg leads the list and top ten are as follows. All figures aregross.

1. Dabangg – 76 crore

2. Three Idiots – 69.20 crore

3. My Name Is Khan – 65.30 crore

4. Raajneeti – 54.85 crore

5. Ghajini – 53.31 crore

6. Golmaal 3 – 53 crore

7. Love Aaj Kal – 51.80 crore

8. Housefull – 50.62 crore

9. Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi – 49.45 crore

10. Kites – 48.54 crore

Source – BOI

The biggest single days for one film in box office history are listed below. Dabanng dominates with top three.

1. Dabangg First Sunday (12/09/10)
18 crore nett

2. Dabangg First Saturday (11/09/10)
16.25 crore nett

3. Dabangg First Friday (10/09/10)
14.50 crore nett

4. Golmaal 3 First Saturday (06/11/10)
13.50 crore nett

5. Three Idiots First Sunday (27/12/09)
13.25 crore nett

6. Three Idiots First Friday (25/12/09)
13 crore nett

7. My Name Is Khan First Sunday (14/02/10)
12.50 crore nett

8. Three Idiots Second Sunday (03/01/10)
12.25 crore nett

9. Raajneeti First Sunday (06/06/10)
12 crore nett

10. Golmaal 3 First Sunday (07/11/10)
11.75 crore nett

Source – BOI

Hrithik Roshan, known for his dancing prowess, performed what he calls his career’s toughest dance sequence for Guzaarish. The actor, known as a hot bod of Indian showbiz for whom staying away from junk food is a way of life, also bent his fitness rules for the love story.

Hrithik, known as Bollywood’s best dancer who mesmerised his fans with his exotic moves in songs like Ek pal ka jeena, Main aisa kyun hoon and Idhar chala main udhar chala, says he had to work the hardest for a dance sequence in Guzaarish.

“There is a dance sequence for which I had to work the hardest in my life. Never worked so hard. For one month I trained for it. It’s not a long piece of dance, but the kind of dance it is, it’s very tough.”

Choreographer Ashley Lobo designed the moves.

“Ashley told me to take a three-time spin and then stand back straight. If you’re not used to dance, you can take four-five months to learn it, but I just had one month. All the steps are mostly jazz, ballet kinds. It’s a lot about the form, the stance, the spins – it’s the toughest thing I’ve tried,” said Hrithik.

“None of my songs, until now, have spins because that’s something I’m really bad at. If it’s a spin, it’s a half spin. This was the first time I tried a full one. It was also difficult because the entire song is with a ball in the hand. I’m playing with the ball and I’m also dancing,” he added.

The actor had to look fat for his role in the movie, and so had to pack on some pounds. “I didn’t workout for six-seven months. After 15 years, I found out the taste of batata vada and samosas. I binged like anything,” Hrithik told IANS in an interview.

“I had the liberty to have all the fried stuff because I had to look fat in some parts of the film. But when I was on this toxic programme, health took a very bad shape.”

All that hogging had a negative impact on his medical reports.

“For 15 years, I lived such a healthy life with a proper diet and workout. Then suddenly such a major shift, so my medical reports had gone crazy and the doctors were forcing me to stop it. But I enjoyed it because it was an excuse to eat whatever I wanted to,” added the 36-year-old actor.

Read the rest – HERE

Golmaal 3 had its first noticeable drop on Wednesday as it grossed 4.50 crore nett approx. The film dropped in Mumbai circuit for the first time as multiplexes showed a drop in the circuit though single screens remained steady.

This takes the business of Golmaal 3 to around 51.50 crore nett in six days and it could another 3.50-4 crore nett to finish the week on 55 crore nett plus.

The drop on Wednesday will make the 100 crore mark tough as the second weekend will now have to bring in near 20 crore nett for the film to have a chance of hitting 100 crore nett.

Golmaal 3 is certain to be the third highest grossing film of 2010 with a chance to cross Raajneeti and become the second biggest.

Source – BOI